Dwedit's Board

Enjoy the board

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Welcome, fellow visitors from other websites!
Whenever you download a file, I'd appreciate it if you posted a nice "Thank You" message, then tell me which site you came from. Thanks.
- Dwedit

#1 2008-01-26 3:56:05 pm

Dwedit
Witch's Brew (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 881
Website

enter gbc mode

Here's a little GBA program that enters GBC mode.


Attachments:
gba enter_gbc_mode.mb.gba, Size: 3.09 KiB, Downloads: 3,928

"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#2 2008-01-27 12:33:47 pm

Gausen
Ungurait
Ungurait
Registered: 2007-04-26
Posts: 12

Re: enter gbc mode

Hi Dwedit.
Is this program for all GBA models or only for the first one (the one that has gb/gbc compatibility)?

Offline

#3 2008-01-29 4:41:01 pm

Dwedit
Witch's Brew (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 881
Website

Re: enter gbc mode

Newer version!  Press A to enter GBC mode!
Includes source code.


Attachments:
zip enter_gbc_mode.zip, Size: 5.14 KiB, Downloads: 5,022

"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#4 2008-02-25 3:26:16 am

GuestX
Guest

Re: enter gbc mode

Hi,

can the program damage your flashcard since gbc cartridges run in 5volts mode and the gba ones in 3volts mode?

#5 2008-02-29 10:12:10 am

cualquiercosa
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2008-02-28
Posts: 3

Re: enter gbc mode

Hi.i would like know if that hack can be used to someway use gba and gbc cpu at same time,as a dual procesor ?

z80 is not very powerfull but you can use it for some tricks,or a background...


Some similar to ds and advance?

I know nintendo sais it is not posible,but also some "tricks" werent posible on gb and people did it.

maybe need a hardware and software trick??
thanks

Dani

Offline

#6 2008-02-29 1:15:43 pm

Dwedit
Witch's Brew (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 881
Website

Re: enter gbc mode

There's absolutely no way to use the GBA and GBC at the same time, otherwise someone else would have done it by now.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#7 2008-03-04 6:06:44 am

rememberthe8bit
End user
From: Rochester, NY
Registered: 2008-02-23
Posts: 21
Website

Re: enter gbc mode

I just tried this on my Micro with  a GBC game inserted. (I just took a hacked up GBA cart and put a GBC game PCB in it.) And it did nothing, which doesn't surprise me. But, what I think is weird is that this proves the the Micro has a Z80. I thought that the Micro was just the GBA parts from a DS. Now, if we can find a way to switch to 5v mode, we may be able to play GBC games...

Also, where the Nintendo logo is supposed to be, there is just nothing, not even the usual black block. What's up with that?

EDIT:
Here are my testing results:
GBA = black screen, sound still works
GBASP (front-lit) = black screen, sound still works
GBM = video and sound work, but no Nintendo logo or black block
NDS = crazy line death
NDSL = crazy line death

I doubt the back-lit GBASP would do anything different, but it would be nice to see what happened.

P.S. Now the Administrator name has changed from Xenu, Dwedit? Are you losing the faith? :P

Last edited by rememberthe8bit (2008-03-04 6:12:21 am)

Offline

#8 2008-03-15 6:41:11 am

jagasian
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2008-03-15
Posts: 1

Re: enter gbc mode

Can this be used to run GBC games on a GBASP, without using an emulator?

Offline

#9 2008-03-15 9:48:55 am

Dwedit
Witch's Brew (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 881
Website

Re: enter gbc mode

No, it can't.  Even though it sometimes successfully enters GBC mode, nobody has managed to get it to boot a GBC game.  Also, if you insert a GBC cartridge into the slot, the GBA immediately switches to GBC mode because the cartridge slot switch is being pressed.  So you can't even test out the effects of inserting a GBC cartridge before using the soft switch.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#10 2008-04-02 1:17:03 pm

rememberthe8bit
End user
From: Rochester, NY
Registered: 2008-02-23
Posts: 21
Website

Re: enter gbc mode

I was just thinking about why the Game Boy Color mode look different on the Micro than any other system, and I thought of two possible options:

Nintendo just stuck in the GBA portions of the DS components and tried to add GBC compatibility back in, but didn't care and gave up. :) (I figured this because of the whole soft GBC/GBA mode switcher thing that never worked out.)

Or, that they wanted to make lower cost chips, and lazily removed only some of the GBC components, enough to fit on the next smaller die or something.

Offline

Quick reply

Write your message and submit

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB