Dwedit's Board

Enjoy the board

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Welcome, fellow visitors from other websites!
Whenever you download a file, I'd appreciate it if you posted a nice "Thank You" message, then tell me which site you came from. Thanks.
- Dwedit

#31 2008-11-04 8:23:01 am

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 918
Website

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Shantae is simply a CPU intensive game.  The GBA isn't powerful enough.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#32 2008-11-04 10:17:29 am

sagadarvulia
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2008-04-22
Posts: 4

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Ah, should have guessed. It's an amazing game that way. Apart from Shantae everything works perfectly.

Offline

#33 2008-11-05 6:24:31 pm

squishyfishy
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 1

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Okay. I'm having the worst time finding marcelo's goomba builder v1.2. Can you help out dwedit? It's just when I build my rom (hate having to switch my m3 on an off again to select a different game) all that appears are roms that had .gb ending. Is there another way around this?

Also, I hope you haven't given up on this :) I still play my gb micro as much as my psp and ds. Hope savestates come soon! :D

If you've given up, then all's cool I guess :) you've done plenty for us!

Last edited by squishyfishy (2008-11-06 4:49:24 am)

Offline

#34 2008-11-06 6:07:04 am

chicken_soup
Guest

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Tetris DX plays and saves fine.
If I use the trimmer it plays fine, but doesn't save.
Is that normal for trimmed games, or did I probably do something wrong?

#35 2008-11-07 7:11:46 pm

chicken_soup
Guest

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

nevermind, got it working now

#36 2008-11-13 9:59:04 am

dlikee
Guest

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

bobble bobble crashes on the first level just as play starts other then that i love the emulator, works great on ds through 3in1 ez expansion and ruldolfs exploader

#37 2008-12-22 4:40:31 am

xone
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Just bought brand new SuperCard and was searching google for any info about running GBC games on my GBA SP.. :D
Thank you very much, I'll test it...

Offline

#38 2008-12-23 9:57:48 pm

chris
Guest

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

this is great.  just played kirby's blockball for 2 hours. I originally found your site from the pocket nes forum.

#39 2008-12-24 11:40:46 am

chris
Guest

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Bionic Commando is very shaky and Ken Griffey Jr. Slugfest is unplayable.

Any ideas?

Thanks Again

#40 2008-12-24 3:34:14 pm

Isaiah
Guest

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Hey! I just donwloaded this, and wow. Great job man! I was wondering though...are there any plans for a future release? Also, I want to make a suggestion: could you add the borders from Super Gameboy to use for regular Gameboy games? Plus...more pallettes...Thank you very much!!!

#41 2009-01-22 6:42:07 am

Burbruee
Guest

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Thanks for this.. I only have a GBAMP so I can't use any of the other more recent versions. Is it impossible to add SGB borders for GBAMP?

#42 2009-04-12 2:36:12 pm

Normmatt
Guest

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Any news on your NDS port?

#43 2009-04-22 6:19:47 pm

Dimensional
Guest

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Normmatt wrote:

Any news on your NDS port?

My thoughts exactly. Will there be one made specifically for the DS, like Lameboy?

#44 2009-07-16 1:28:19 pm

Gecko
Guest

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

after reinstalling goomba and trying to compile .gbc into .gba it somehow generates a files thats ridiculously smaller than the original... pkmn tcg shrinks from 2mb to about 188kb. that shrunken .gba file doesn't work of course.
funny thing is, i used to use goomba a lot before i had to reset my pc system. (sry for the bad english) it worked just perfectly. for instance, i brought pkmn yellow edition to run and be saveable by compiling that single .gb file into a .gba which i could then save through the built-in save function of my supercard sd.
ideas anyone?

#45 2009-08-18 9:23:46 pm

Beto San
Guest

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

The EXIT option won't work in the EZ4, the game reset with this option!!!

#46 2009-09-02 9:37:29 am

Asaki
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 4

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

dlikee wrote:

bobble bobble crashes on the first level just as play starts

It's not the same game (sequel) but Bubble Bobble Jr. (J) runs.

Offline

#47 2009-10-10 10:22:53 am

Ted
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 7

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

First off, I like this emulator and appreciate the work that's gone into it.

I'm trying to compile the GCC version of the code, and everything compiles just fine.  However, the resultant gba images don't work (testing with VisualBoyAdvance).  The regular one (goomba.gba) gives a white screen, and the multiboot (goomba_mb.gba) I can access the menu, but there's no boot menu for the games.  The provided images work just fine, so I don't think it's the test environment.  And I did append the .gb(c) files to the end of the file, so it's not that dumb mistake.

Any help?  Something I need to do to build other than 'make' or make with one of the various makefiles?  I've tried poking with config.h, using different roms, different number or roms, but to no avail.

Offline

#48 2009-10-10 10:50:14 am

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 918
Website

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

What I'm now doing is including the MB version as a binary inside the Cart version to allow the Link Transfer and Go Multiboot features to work.

So it's:
make -f makefile_mb
followed by:
make -f makefile_cart

And it appears that the currently released source is broken.  Damn.
I'll go look into fixing the builds.  New versions of DevKitPro always screw things up.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#49 2009-10-11 10:44:10 am

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 918
Website

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Figured it out.  The symbol of the last byte changed.

Go to main.c, replace all instances of "__load_stop_iwram_9" with "__rom_end__"

Then build a MB version, followed by a cart version, then it should just work.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#50 2009-10-11 1:21:41 pm

Ted
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 7

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

That works for me for the MB version, but the cart version doesn't.  It gets to where the MB version was last time (can bring up the menu, but doesn't load any roms). There were two instances in main.c, yes?  I also tried changing those in mbclient.c, but that didn't do anything.

(Oh, I think you mistyped the string; it's __load_stop_iwram9.)

I'm personally not too concerned at the moment, since I don't intend to be using that version, but I'll cooperate however is necessary to resolve the issue to your satisfaction.

Offline

#51 2009-10-11 3:24:52 pm

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 918
Website

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

It's the revenge of the PAD section.  Formerly not included in the addresses given for the end of the image, suddenly is now.  Builds were looking about 12 bytes ahead for the appended file compared to where it should have been looking.
Multiboot builds don't have a padding section for some reason.

Go edit the makefile, remove the -R Pad part from both makefiles.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#52 2009-10-11 3:46:40 pm

Ted
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 7

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Ah, there it goes!  Thanks for looking into this.  Now I can try to make sense of it all.

Offline

#53 2009-10-12 7:38:12 pm

Ted
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 7

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Okay, I've added a fake RTC so that if your flash cart doesn't have an RTC, you can at least advance the time.  It only does hours (for now, at least), since I don't know that it's really necessary to do more than that.  (I've never actually played any RTC-enabled game...)  It'll only kick in if there isn't an actual RTC available.  Just go into "Other settings" and change the value.  This should eliminate the need for game-specific patches.

You can find the image if you want to try it, as well as the patch for the GCC version of the source, here.  If anyone finds problems, or can tell me if minutes or seconds are important, please tell me.

Also if someone knows a game that'll let me see a value for the date, which I at least think is handled by goomba for an actual RTC, I'd like to know so I could possibly add support for that in.

Offline

#54 2009-10-13 5:16:40 am

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 918
Website

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Sweet, I think it would be better to also advance it by 1/60th of a second every frame as well.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#55 2009-10-13 12:05:04 pm

Ted
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 7

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

I took your suggestion, and went a bit further.

The clock will advance automatically, once per 60 frames.  There is a setting to change the speed (2x,4x,8x,16x) or turn off the automatic increase.  There are options to increase the minutes and seconds.

These are available again here; these are marked -02.  I might be clobbering part of the data used for the date, but again, I don't know that it really matters.

The next thing I'd like to do is to put the fake RTC options into their own menu, so that it can refresh the view of the clock in real time, and add a few more usability features (like decreasing the values).

An interesting idea would be to allow an offset for the time, so that you could sync this clock to the in-game clock, but I'm thinking that'd be more trouble than it's worth.  It'd also be kind of slow, since you'd have to be running through all the positions on every access.  And you could probably just avoid this by setting your clock appropriately at the onset.

Offline

#56 2009-10-14 5:53:39 pm

Ted
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 7

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

I added a menu to adjust the clock and a couple extra speeds (all that are possible as it's handled now).  The menu changes make me fear that I may have broken it.  So, this one is more likely to have bugs than the previous, although it's related to the menu and not the rest.  I also fixed it so that the clock is updated every tick, as opposed to previously when I guess it was only updated when you checked goomba's menu.

Also, be careful using the 60x speed.  I totally glitched out Pokemon with it on, although I'm not sure exactly how and it may not be related.  There were some display and other problems, forcing a restart.  If anyone runs into anything like that using it, I'd sure like to  know the circumstances.  I don't expect a lot of problems, but if they happen, here's the warning.

It's here again, this is the -04 version.  I don't see any other changes I'll be likely to make; things such as decreasing the clock seem like they'd gunk up the code more than I'd like (even being lazy and decrementing by incrementing 59 times).  Open to ideas, though.

And a random note, since I didn't mention it anywhere, is that FAKERTC requires RTCSUPPORT to be on to work.  I don't think it'll compile otherwise, actually.  And I tried to make it so that the RTC menu doesn't show up when an actual RTC is present, but that menu system... it scares me.  (I.e., I tried and it didn't work and I didn't feel like making it work.)

Offline

#57 2009-10-14 6:04:39 pm

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 918
Website

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Can you post full source?  I don't really like patches.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#58 2009-10-15 9:21:08 am

Ted
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 7

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Okay, posted it.

Offline

#59 2010-05-09 1:57:52 am

Serge SB
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2010-05-02
Posts: 1

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

Ok, I know, that this project seems to be dead, but could you give me just a hint how to fix savestates? I see, that at quicksave() or savestatemenu() there is SAVE_FORBIDDEN, which is simply defined 'return', so they do not work. Also at savestatemenu there is a comment 'need to check this' - what exactly should be checked?

UPD: I commented that 'return', now saving seems to be working (savestate item appears in save submenu), but loadstate fails: I just get returned from load submenu to menu, when I hit the state, and nothing happens.

Last edited by Serge SB (2010-05-09 2:18:54 am)

Offline

#60 2010-05-09 2:02:34 pm

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 918
Website

Re: Goomba Color 3-31-2008

They probably won't work at all, or might only work on GB games if the game is in a somewhat similar state to when it was saved.

When I added features, I didn't add any corresponding code to the savestate system.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

Quick reply

Write your message and submit

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB