Dwedit's Board

Enjoy the board

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Welcome, fellow visitors from other websites!
Whenever you download a file, I'd appreciate it if you posted a nice "Thank You" message, then tell me which site you came from. Thanks.
- Dwedit

#61 2009-01-12 7:47:42 pm

elbobelo
Guest

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

Zorg Lub wrote:

For "Nut's & Milk"  and  "Ultimate Stuntman" i can say they are working nicely on my flashcard.

Hey you're right!  I was using the Ultimate Stuntman (unl) and some bad Nut's & Milk.  The clean versions work fine. I will test them more later.


some games I forgot to mention.

Mendel's Palace - The title screen is garbled for some reason
Micro Machines - the gameplay works fine but the colors in the menus are messed up
Mario Open Golf - The title screen here has a line through it.

I hope this helps you find bugs, and if you weren't looking for any bugs than don't be bugged.

#62 2009-03-24 12:04:09 pm

Brad
Guest

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

Hello dwedit,
I was just wondering if we will be seeing a pocketnes update in the near future.  Are you currently working on the next build or is the november release going to hold up for awhile?

#63 2009-03-24 9:53:03 pm

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 906
Website

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

I was working on the major rewrite version a while ago, but not now.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#64 2009-03-25 6:18:02 am

Elbobelo
Guest

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

Dwedit,
    For some reason I recall a way to decompress *_k.nes roms created with nespack, but I cannot locate it with my searches.  Is there an unpack program I can use to recover some backup roms I compressed?  Thanks in advance.

#65 2009-04-12 11:08:56 am

Hamtaro126
Guest

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

Thanks for the Download! It should be useful

-Hamtaro126

#66 2009-05-31 11:00:26 pm

Ninjamohawk
Slime
Slime
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 3

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

Hey Dwedit,

Awesome job, you really rule. I friggin' love this.

Offline

#67 2010-02-22 7:16:19 pm

Kuwanger
Guest

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

Hey, Dwedit, I think I found a bug with PocketNES.  Specifically, as you sort of note, Exit isn't working properly.  I'm pretty sure I know why.  The issue is, visoly.s needs to be in RAM so that when the set_rom_start happens, you'll still be executing the proper code.  I haven't checked vesrion 11_08_2008's source specifically, but in version 7_31_08's source, you're including visoly.s in io.s in a ROM section.  Scrolling down about a page in io.s and you have some code in wram_code1.  Presuming you have the space for it  (I think it's ~200-300 bytes), you should be able to move it there and have Exit working again.  Barring that, you could always copy the code over to RAM just prior to calling doReset.

#68 2010-02-22 10:38:44 pm

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 906
Website

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

I've already fixed it on my hard drive.  I know it's trying to reset the F2A from within ROM, which obviously won't work.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#69 2010-02-23 12:47:48 pm

Kuwanger
Guest

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

Sorry if I was making it sound less than obvious.  I wanted to be explicitly clear.

It's good to hear that you've updated visoly.s already.  I made my own update as well, using my copy of visoly.s that works on Visoly, EZ4, and Supercard carts.  There's a copy of the source here:  pastebin.ca/1807286  I can upload the file elsewhere if you want a raw copy.

#70 2010-02-23 1:34:28 pm

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 906
Website

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

That's good, I also had the EZ reset code in there, but not the Supercard reset code.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#71 2010-06-20 9:58:34 am

Rapph
Guest

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

Thanks Dwedit I was looking for a Pocketness version that would allow save state on my M3 miniSD.
Found a link of yours on another forum and it worked great!
pocketheaven.com/ph/boards/viewtopic.php?t=6508&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0&sid=7c8cd58f1c763e1564923f5f126284a9

#72 2011-08-06 12:12:11 pm

maxzhou88
Ungurait
Ungurait
From: shenzhen china
Registered: 2006-10-12
Posts: 19
Website

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

Dj Co2 wrote:

I like the unoffical version of the PockentNES998, because of its relatively stable.

spam

This is what I said before , please see #25


The such beautiful days can arrive once again in my life?
72299.gif

Offline

#73 2011-08-06 1:20:55 pm

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 906
Website

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

This spammer used stealth editing before I caught him, thanks.


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#74 2011-08-07 8:18:37 am

maxzhou88
Ungurait
Ungurait
From: shenzhen china
Registered: 2006-10-12
Posts: 19
Website

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

PocketNES(11-10-08 version) can't play the NES ROM "Feng Yin Dao (Ch)封印岛.nes"(chinese version mapper 4)

I modified map4.s based on DWedit's V9.98 version(2005-09-07), it refer to Kuwanger of V9.98CSD (2005-06-27) map4.s file. Now, it can paly "Feng Yin Dao ".

Thanks DWedit and Kuwanger.

Last edited by maxzhou88 (2011-08-07 8:25:49 am)


Attachments:
rar PocketNES998(15-06-06 by maxzhou88).rar, Size: 31.25 KiB, Downloads: 63

The such beautiful days can arrive once again in my life?
72299.gif

Offline

#75 2011-10-01 5:55:10 pm

Brad
Guest

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

I need some help please.  I am using the newest version of pocket nes on an F2A ultra flash card and some kind of bug happened that messed up the save states for every game.  Every time I try to load a save it always says rom not found but all the roms are there and can be played.  I eraesed the cart and reloaded everything and it still does the same thing.  I even erased the cart again and loaded a different version of pocket nes and the same thing happened.  Did the flash card get corrupted?  It worked fine up until this wierd bug happened.  Does anyone have any idea how I can fix this?

#76 2011-10-01 7:54:00 pm

Dwedit
Princess Lapis of Sorcerland (Administrator)
From: Chicago
Registered: 2004-12-12
Posts: 906
Website

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

There was a bug I just fixed where it fails to load state for compressed roms when using Pogoshell, is that what you're doing?


"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button pressing overlord."

Offline

#77 2011-10-02 2:20:26 am

Brad
Guest

Re: Pocketnes 11-10-2008

Thank you for the response.   I did not use pogoshell.  I made several menus using the menumaker and then wrote those menus directly to the F2A ultra flash card.  I did not change or compress the roms in any way.  When I first started using it, it worked fine.  I was able to save and load with no problems.  Then I loaded a state for pugsleys scavenger hunt and it loaded garbled.  So I played with it garbled and tried to die to see if it would clear up.  When I continued after a game over, the screen cleared up so I saved over the garbled state.  But every time I loaded the state, it went back to that same garbled screen from the first time.  I erased the state completly and tried to start over.  Thats when it refused to load anything.  No matter what game I played, when i tried to load a save state it always said "rom not found" even if it was a state from a game I was currently playing. I could still create save states, but could not load anything.  I figured it glitched up somehow and I eraesed the entire cart and made new menus but the same thing happened again.  Then I erased all the sram and all the save states (while using pocket nes on the gba).  I erased the menus on the cart again and made a test menu using a different version of pocket nes and it still did the same thing.  I noticed that even when i erase the cart and create new menus, it still keeps save states and sram unless I erase them on the gba itself.  Save data stays on the cart regardless of eraseing menus on powerwriter I guess?  I was trying to figure out how to erase all saves on powerwriter thinking that some glitch is still saved regardless of what menus I make or what states i erase, but I could not see any way to do that.  Does this seem strange?  Its such an odd thing that it makes me think its an issue with the flash card itself, but like I said it worked fine in the past.  All I can think of is to find some way to completely erase everything ie reboot the flash card if thats possible but I dont know how to do that.  Thank you once again for your help.

Quick reply

Write your message and submit

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB